Color Meanings


Color Red
Color Red and Root Chakra Color Red :: Number 1 :: Chakra 1

Red is: passion, enthusiasm, strength, energy, fire, love, sex, excitement, speed, heat, leadership, masculinity, power, danger, fire, blood, war, anger, revolution, radicalism, aggression, stop. Red is the color of the Root Chakra which is associated with adrenals, kidneys, muscles and arterial blood. The first chakra is located at the base of the spine and groin area. It governs instinct and survival. It also governs taste, smell and body’s heat. When this chakra is blocked we experience: low vitality, depression, anxiety, fear, anger, frustration, lethargy, caution, low self confidence, unloved, ungrounded, suicidal, weak-willed, sexually inadequate, frustrated, alienated, separate, possessive, needing approval, craving excitement. Gemstones are: ruby, garnet, red jasper, bloodstone, rose quartz, coral.

Color Orange
Color Orange and Sacral Chakra Color Orange :: Number 2 :: Chakra 2
Orange is: energy, emotion, sexual energy, self-acceptance, fascination, happiness, creativity, determination, attraction, success, encouragement, stimulation, balance, heat, fire, enthusiasm, flamboyance, playfulness, warning, danger, fire. Orange is the color of the Sacral “Hara” Chakra which is associated with the reproductive organs, stomach and colon. The second chakra is located at the genitals, this chakra monitors sexuality and reproduction. When this chakra is blocked we experience: guilt, stiff lower back, restlessness, confusion, lack of sexual desire or pleasure, distrust, timid or shy, introverted, overly sensitive, unmotivated, low self esteem, isolation, rebellion, protect emotions, untrusting, anti-social. Gemstones are: carnelian, orange jasper, fire opal.

Color Yellow
Color Yellow and Solar Plexus Chakra Color Yellow :: Number 3 :: Chakra 3
Yellow is: sunlight, joy, happiness, optimism, idealism, identity, wealth (gold), summer, hope, air, cowardice, quarantine, hazards. Yellow is the color of the Solar Plexus Chakra which is associated with the pancreas, liver, gall bladder, spleen, digestive system and nervous system. The third chakra is located at the solar plexus (the middle of the belly) and it governs the sense of identity and is the organizing brain of the nervous system. When this chakra is blocked we experience: Shame, anger, fear, bitterness, resentment, prejudice, hate, isolated, low self esteem, lack courage, insecure, depressed, blaming, rigid, cunning, possessive, defensive, emotionally aloof. Gemstones are: topaz, citrine, yellow zircon, amber.

Color Green
Color Green and Heart Chakra Color Green :: Number 4 :: Chakra 4
Green is: nature, spring, fertility, youth, environment, wealth, money (US), good luck, vigor, generosity, go, grass, inexperience, envy, jealousy, money, illness, greed. Green is the color of the Heart Chakra which is associated with the heart, thymus gland, lower lung and circulatory system. The fourth chakra is located at the heart governing higher consciousness and love. When this chakra is blocked we experience: emotional instability, relationship problems, sorrow, loss, apathetic, fearing rejection, placid, lethargic, lazy, slow, taken advantage of, moody, depressed. Gemstones are: emerald, green tourmaline, malachite, jade, chrysoprase, dipotase, peridot, aventurine, moss agate, green jasper, rose quartz, rhodonite.

Color Blue
Color Blue and Throat Chakra Color Blue :: Number 5 :: Chakra 5
Blue is: seas, skies, stability, peace, unity, harmony, tranquility, calmness, coolness, confidence, water, ice, loyalty, conservatism, dependability, cleanliness, technology, coldness, ice, winter. Blue is the color of the Throat Chakra which is associated with thyroid gland, upper lungs and respiratory system. The fifth chakra is located at the throat which governs creativity, self-expression and the search for truth. It is the focusing point of the spoken word. When this chakra is blocked we experience: withdrawal, depression, timid, manipulative, unreliable, stubborn, devious, suspicious, resistant to change, clinging, traditional, scared, weak, scattered, inconsistent, dependent, lacking creativity, swallowed feelings. Gemstones are: sapphire, lapis lazuli, blue topaz, aquamarine, turquoise, chrysocolla and sodalite.

Color Indigo
Color Indigo and Third Eye Chakra Color Indigo :: Number 6 :: Chakra 6
Indigo is: intuition, deep contemplation, meditation, wisdom, dignity, self-mastery, spiritual realization, insight, inspiration, intuition, depression, solitude, inner communication. Indigo is the color of the Third Eye Chakra which is associated with the pituitary gland, eyes, nose, ears and skeletal system. The sixth chakra is located between the eyes and governs intelligence and psychic power. When this chakra is blocked we experience: blindness (inner or outer), headaches, nightmares, eyestrain, blurred vision, oversensitivity, fear, undisciplined, withdrawal, lost in fantasies, wishful thinking. Gemstones are: indigo, sapphire, azurite.

Color Violet
Color Violet and Crown Chakra Color Violet :: Number 7 :: Chakra 7
Violet is: elegance, sensuality, spirituality, creativity, wealth, royalty, nobility, ceremony, magic, mystery, inspiration, imagination, enlightenment, transformation, cruelty, arrogance, mourning, profanity, exaggeration, confusion. Violet is the color of the Crown Chakra which is associated with the pineal gland, brain and central nervous system. The seventh chakra is located above the head linking individual and universal, matter and spirit. When this chakra is blocked we experience: rigid thinking, depression, alienation, confusion, inability to learn or comprehend, unable to maintain relationships, self denial, needing to be needed, needing sympathy. Gemstones are: amethyst, fluorite, ametrine.

Found Your Soulmate?

Soulmate Synergy reveals the deepest soul-bonds between you.
Are you with the partner whose name is written deep within your soul?
Check here and see!
Scroll to Top